Monster High Freaky Fusion Bonita Femur

Hello everyone 🙂

Like I mentioned in my review about Avea Trotter,
i was quite fascinated about the Deluxe Freaky Fusion line.

Avea was – obviously – something very unique and new,
but Sirena also made a very interesting first impression.
I really did not think that much of Bonita .. but BOY – was I wrong 😀

She is by far my favourite from this line 🙂

DSC09902

Here she is in her box.
She comes in the new triangular Freaky Fusion box like Avea and Sirena, too.

At the back of her box is her cute artwork and a short bio :

DSC09903 DSC09904

In her diary her character is described as shy and anxious, so she chews on her clothes when she gets excited,
because ” nothing calms her down like a good wool blend” … 😀
I like this girl

All this time I was trying to make up my mind what she reminds me of ..
and then it hit me … Dryocampa rubicunda,
also known as “The rosy maple moth” … 😀
This cute moth MUST have been the inspiration for Bonita … don’t you think ? 🙂

rosymaple

Alright .. on to Bonita herself.

This Ghoul is the one with the LONGEST hair EVER on a Monster HIgh doll.

In fact it is so long
that – even when you prop her up in a doll stand – she topples over because of the weight of her amazing hair.

So there is really no way to display her without her wings –
on the other hand … this “build in” stand is quite a nice change, so I will not complain too loudly.

DSC09905

Here she is, still propped up in her box .. you can see the hair in all its glory.

DSC09906

Her hair is quite messy in the box .. but aren’t those antennas just the cutest thing ?

I think her head mold is wonderful –
she has this sweet, innocent look with her big eyes and the calm expression.
I really like it.

DSC09908

She has the same striped lip design as Skelita.

Here she is, all free from her cardboard 🙂

DSC09907 DSC09909

In the second picture you can see how she is propped up on her wings.
She can only stand like this with her shoes on,
Without her shoes she is 1/2 inch smaller, and there is no way of standing her up.

Here are her wings and her hair from the back :

DSC09910 DSC09911

Her hair is a shiny nylon and it is clean white underneath.
she has 2 streaks in dark pink and black.
I really enjoy this dolls hair.

In the “wing” picture you can see the eye motive on the wing design .. I think this is a really clever choice
although I would have probably picked an other colour instead of neon yellow.

Bonita has 2 rather big holes in her back
to hold her enormous wings.

DSC09912

Bonita is the daughter of a Moth and a skeleton.

She shares a hand mold with Skelita,
but that is where the similarities end.

Mattel has – once more – outdone themselves with her body mold.
She has a “boney” chest with a showing ribcage and her arms are bones, too ..
they are a little differently shaped then Skelitas.
Her legs are “fuzzy” Moth fur , so is the her tummy.

DSC09914 DSC09915

Her wings and the attachment are designed like a spine,
which is an interesting choice.

She came with a plastic “top” , that I removed for the pictures.
I think that her dress looks much better without the top, so I am keeping it of.

DSC09913

In this picture I tried to get her to stand straight in a normal doll stand.

As you can see .. I am holding the stand down
because the weight of her hair is always pulling her over.

DSC09916

Bonita comes dressed in a black dress that is printed with butterflies and has “chew holes”.
it also has pink mesh along the sleeves and as an over skirt
and she has ruffles at her hands.

She also comes with a neon yellow butterfly and spine belt
and a pair of – really ugly … – clumpy shoes.

The shoes have an interesting broken pattern,
but the colour is downright ugly …

DSC09917 DSC09918

Here she is
back in all her clothes

DSC09919

I am really happy to have this little moth in my collection 🙂

Out of the 3 Freaky Fusions she is my favourite .. and unexpected at that 🙂

I will not be getting the other dolls of this line
because not one of them really seems special enough .. and I don’t need the 200+and odd Draculaura face
even though she is “fusioned” with another character ..
the idea is a bit “off” to me.

I will be reviewing Sirena next
and I hope that my Robecca Ghouls Alive will drop in soon 🙂

Thanks for reading 🙂

 

Leave a comment